Announcement: What I Did On 521

Hello to all my readers!

For those of you that don’t know, 521 or May 21st is a day that when said in Chinese, sound like I love you. Which is why it’s considered to be a romantic day to some couples, and many decide to get married on this date every year.

For this year’s May 21st, I attended a wedding for a work gig. For the past week, I’ve been working on translating speeches for the wedding, since my job was to provide translation and interpretation for the parents of the bride, making sure that they can understand everything that’s being said during the entire day.

The vows, friends and family speech as well as ceremonial speeches were all sent to me. They were touching to read and translate, especially the speeches from the mothers and the vows, they were absolutely beautiful and so touching! I admit, I did cry while reading them. I had a really good time translating the vows and it was not only a learning experience in terms of work, more importantly, it allowed me to witness two people who are so deeply in love that they’ve decided to spend the rest of their life together as one. I’ve never been to a wedding before, so this certainly changed my perspective somewhat, taking away some of my cynicism towards relationships.

Anyway, it was something that I felt worth writing down, since it was an experience worth remembering. I even made a new friend there! 🙂

Weddings are really fun, I’m looking forward to the next one I’m attending in September!

Shoot me a message~