TTTBTM 那些男孩教我的事—Boy Number 02

Things That Those Boys Taught Me • Holy Angels Edition 那些男孩教我的事 • 圣天使版

Boy Number Two: The Boy Scout

By: Kevin Tsai/Tsai Kang Yong/Cai Kang Yong 蔡康永

Previous Story  |  Next Story

I met Boy Number Two during camping, when I joined the Boy Scouts.

Out of the entire scout, he was definitely the most “vibrant” one.

He was probably the most beautifully vibrant Boy Scout in the entire history of Boy Scouts.

Oddly enough, aside from his appearance, there’s nothing else about his existence that has to do with beauty or vibrance.

He loved all the hard work that came with being a Boy Scout, chopping firewood, tidying up the campground, mounting flagpoles, and setting up tents. All the busy work would make sweat pour down his face, but he would still be beautifully vibrant, like a cherry being washed under the tap.

He has a younger sister, who was also quite pretty as well. But her brother always stole the spotlight, and she’d often stand in his shadow as an accessory.

“I never want to be a scout. I want to be as far away from my brother as possible,” his sister admitted to me bitterly.

Despite knowing his sister, I had never spoken to him before. It wasn’t until a decade later, that the two of us met again, and recognized each other. We chatted, talking about the Boy Scouts, and which of those boys were the most special.

After mentioning twenty or so names, he said, “Those people that we’ve just talked about, I’ve slept with all of them.”

For a fifteen-year-old Boy Scout at the time, he was quite impressive.


Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Translator’s Notes:

I have to say, for a fifteen-year-old Boy Scout, that’s indeed impressive. Also, I’ve never been into the whole scouts thing, but joining as a five-year-old and staying until a teenager? WOW, talk about commitment!

So what lesson was gleaned from this story? Have fun while you are young? (very young in this case) Take what you want in life and never look back?

Who knows, only Kevin Tsai holds the answers. But share your thoughts with me if you’d like!

As always, please like, comment, and follow if you’ve enjoyed reading!~ Ciao! ❤


Previous Story  |  Next Story

One comment

  1. ayu · June 13, 2016

    Just as I was wondering why a guy would write a book about 50+ other guys, I searched the author and found out he wasn’t straight after all. Pretty interesting lol.

    Like

Shoot me a message~